This responsive site is only compatible with Chrome, Safari, Firefox and IE 10 & above.

20171027 - Hello SZ - #5 - 115

Design Society Social Response

Design Society is not here to serve itself, but to serve society. To become a true house of ideas, that is academically rigorous yet fully accessible, we have developed a multifaceted and innovative public learning program that stimulates creative thinking and that engages with the world around us.

This engagement is not a matter of theory, but will have immediate impact on the building itself. Multiple events will animate the building, and prove time and again how architecture thrives when it frames daily life and helps it to unfold. The building will serve the events, and the events will justify the building. This way, Sea World Culture and Arts Center will be a podium for civic life, allowing people to enjoy, watch and participate in Design Society’s public programs.

20171024 - Hello SZ - #1 plus - 09

On another level, Design Society will help foster a creative spirit and a creative society, not by just talking about it, but by demonstrating this principle through our choice of subject matter, by the reach of our critical research and by the design of our events and publications. We hope both content and form will trigger creative thinking and action among our visitors. And besides the activities at Design Society itself, we strive to be a relevant contributor in both social and educational fields, through external activities that transform educational modules at schools and universities into real activators for the next generation of designers and makers. Let the beauty and magic of the exhibitions as well as our stand-alone initiatives be translated into programs that reach out to the lives of real people, and become useful for the city’s creative industries.

Exhibition Practice

Design Society curates exhibitions to investigate the frontlines of design

In the creation of new exhibitions, it is important to find topics that resonate broadly with the wider audience. Through research that critically explores current developments in the creative fields and collaboration with experts in academia and practice, the curatorial program aims to be an interface with which to engage Design Society’s audience on multiple levels.

1741523036

Focus meeting Design Society team with key players in the fashion and media industry, 2015

Design Society strives to identify exhibition topics that demand urgent discussion, presenting the audience with subjects that have a far-reaching presence and influence in their lives. From local to global, from the general public to creative communities, each exhibition topic aims to provide a current, relevant, critical and enjoyable experience for all.

The curatorial team undertakes extensive research, covering both local and international perspectives. Important topics are first identified by following developments in society, then investigated by collaborating with institutions and individuals conducting research in related fields, and by identifying the most representative and critical design practices that reflect these developments. This research process is also a network-building process, helping Design Society identify and connect with talents and leading scholars.

This all comes together in Minding the Digital, the opening show in the Main Gallery. Inspired by current developments within the field of digital design, extensive research was undertaken to investigate how the current digital phenomenon has an impact on our ways of thinking, our relationships and our society.

3

Senior Curator Carrie Chan and founder of Openmake Ian Bennink, 2016

The exhibition, designed by MVRDV in collaboration with Thonik and the curatorial team, was converted into a site for the public, stimulating their thoughts with everyday design objects, soliciting their interaction with empathetic interfaces and promoting their involvement in participatory spaces.

Responsive Research

Design Society stands for quality research. It acts on the frontline of contemporary design practice, and investigates the wider implications of design on society and industry. This enables Design Society to create a program that is relevant to now, and makes Design Society a powerful industry connector. It also insures that the program meets the needs of our audiences. For exhibitions, publications as well as our public program and learning activities, Design Society relies on collaborative and responsive research to inform content and direction.

07.Interview with Zhao Bei, Painter in Dafen village© Luisa E. Mengoni

Interview with Zhao Bei, painter in Dafen village, for Unidentified Acts of Design, October 2015

From focus groups, to audience surveys, interviews and research trips, we work with key voices in industry, academics and creative practices, as well as with local audiences and schools. This allows us to create a diverse exhibition and public program that connects to all our potential audiences.

Audience research and focus groups

Audience research that Design Society has conducted over the past few years shows that the population of Shenzhen is highly educated and young, with a high density of families with young children. It is also home to a large number of people working in design and other creative sectors. Design Society’s programs respond to this, creating a rich and diverse offering that aims to inspire families, creative professionals, students, school children, and more casual visitors alike.

Through focus groups, elements of our program are developed, tested and calibrated with representatives from different audience groups. This process brings us into contact with many players and prompts diverse ways to collaborate with others.

06.Interview with manager of Roseknitting factory© Luisa E. Mengoni

Interview with Sam Li, Project Manager at Rose Knitting Factory, for Unidentified Acts of Design, September 2015

Unidentified Acts of Design

Another example of the value of critical investigation can be found in Unidentified Acts of Design. In 2015, the V&A conducted this project as part of the collaboration with Design Society, exploring contemporary production and manufacturing in Shenzhen. The research succeeded in bringing less known creative scenes to light, but also challenged our categorizations of design, adding new disciplines and local entrepreneurship into the discourse. Some items featured in this project, which was presented at the Shenzhen Biennale 2015, will be part of the exhibition in the V&A Gallery at Design Society, adding to the local embedding and local relevance of the gallery content.

Learning and Public Programs

Our public program is not only a means to transfer knowledge, but a generator for civic life

IMG_2929-1

‘Go! Design Community Festival’, November 2016

The Sea World Culture and Arts Center (SWCAC) was created to fulfil a civic role, a role that was incorporated in its very design, making it a venue with ample public space for the community.

Design education is rapidly expanding in order to meet the needs of China’s growing global design industry. Design Society, as the first major cultural platform for design in the country, occupies a unique position to become a leader and ‘go to’ resource for excellence and innovation in design education and learning.

The SWCAC is the perfect location for such programs, with plenty of public space for a diverse program of activities, ranging from exhibitions, performances, workshops, installations, children’s activities, to fashion shows.

Design Society programs have been designed in collaboration with different audience groups through audience research, relationship building and testing. Leading up to the opening of Design Society, various aspects of future learning programs have already been explored. Pilot events and activities matched real issues in Shenzhen society, reaching out to younger generations and connecting with schools and community life around Shenzhen.

IMG_3608

‘Go! Design Community Festival’, November 2016

With panels already held during Beijing Design Week and London Design Festival, panels in Shanghai during the West Bund and Shanghai Design Week, displays and talks with local creatives during the Shenzhen Design Week, workshops in various locations and a very own Community Festival, Design Society has already demonstrated how it can actively engage with and connect to audiences outside of the SWCAC on a national and international level.

Through combining local knowledge, ongoing consultation with target audience groups and potential partners, along with the V&A’s expertise in museum learning, an innovative model has been devised for the specific context of Shenzhen that supports Design Society’s mission to be an open and collaborative platform. We are looking forward to hosting and meeting our future learning audiences!

The website is currently a beta version.

Continue browsing

Please view vertical.

此网站目前只兼容Chrome、Safari、Firefox和IE 10及以上的浏览器。

20171027 - Hello SZ - #5 - 115

设计互联 响应社会

设计互联是一家以服务社会为己任的公共机构。在公共教育项目的设计上,务求兼顾学术性与普及性。通过举办丰富多样、别出心裁的教育活动,激发公众的参与感与创造力。

对我们来说,促进公众参与,这并不是一个空洞的标语,而是整座建筑的生命力所在。唯有丰富多彩的活动与积极的公众参与,方能成就一座不朽的建筑。因此,设计互联将把海上世界文化艺术中心打造成市民的生活舞台,人们可以在此休闲、观展并参与其中。

20171024 - Hello SZ - #1 plus - 09

与此同时,设计互联将全面参与到培养创意人才与构建创意社会的进程之中。高标准的学术研究、活动策划与出版物,皆是这一原则的体现。除了在海上世界文化艺术中心举办活动,我们的公共教育活动也将进入中小学和大学校园,依托机构丰富的设计资源,助力培养新一代设计师与创客。愿我们的文化项目与公共活动能触及人们的生活,促进这座城市创意产业的发展。

策展历程

设计互联自主策展,探讨设计前沿

设计互联努力寻找当下设计界最值得探讨的展览主题。不论源自本土还是国际,普罗大众还是创意社群,每一个展览在内容选择上都应引发最广泛的观众共鸣,切合人们的日常生活。为此,设计互联策展团队广泛研究创意领域的前沿动态,并与学界、业界专家紧密合作,务求为各个年龄层与教育背景的观众提供兼顾学术价值与参与体验的高水平展览。

1741523036

设计互联与时尚、媒体行业代表举行专题会议,2015年

策展团队进行展览研究时,始终坚持立足本土、关注国际的视角。首先从当前的社会议题中挑选出值得关注的议题,再与相关领域的机构和专家共同探讨,最终选定最具代表性的展览主题。展览的研究过程,亦是构建行业关系网的过程,设计互联由此与最杰出的人才与学者建立联系。

“数字之维”便是这样诞生的。作为主展馆的开幕展,其灵感源自数字化设计领域的最新发展动态,随后通过大量研究,最终敲定展览的叙事主线,即探讨当前的数字化浪潮是如何影响我们的思维方式、人际关系以及社会。

3

高级策展人陈嘉莉与 “放制” 的创始人Ian Bennink会面,2016年

设计互联策展团队与设计事务所MVRDV、创意设计团队Thonik紧密合作,共同打造出一个沉浸式的数字设计空间。参观者还可以在特设的互动区域亲自动手参与创作。

响应式研究

设计互联追求高质量的学术研究,引领当代设计创作,审视设计对社会的广泛影响。当下性,这是设计互联项目的关键词,唯此方能实现以设计链接产业,以设计启发生活的机构愿景。在展览、出版、公众项目和教育活动中,设计互联时刻保持与外界的紧密合作,以获取最新的行业成果与发展方向。

07.Interview with Zhao Bei, Painter in Dafen village© Luisa E. Mengoni

采访大芬村画家赵北,“不为人知的设计行为”,2015年10月

从组织焦点小组访谈、受众调查、外访和调研,到与本地院校建立紧密合作,我们携手业界、学界和创作实践领域的重要人物,务求建立丰富多元的展览与公共项目,以设计联接大众。

受众研究与焦点小组访谈

设计互联过去几年进行的受众研究表明,深圳居民受教育程度高,年轻人居多,有大量年轻家庭。深圳也有众多设计和其他创意产业的从业者。设计互联的项目策划均以此为基础,根据不同受众群体,策划相应的活动内容,希望家庭、创意人士、学生和普通参观者均能从中获得启发和灵感。

我们还组织了多次焦点小组访谈,以此进一步调整、测试与优化项目内容。这些研究活动为设计互联积累了宝贵的合作经验与工作伙伴。

06.Interview with manager of Roseknitting factory© Luisa E. Mengoni

采访玫瑰绣工厂负责人李健森,“不为人知的设计行为” 2015年9月

“不为人知的设计行为”

2015年V&A设计互联团队策划了 “不为人知的设计行为”,该项目以探讨深圳当代的生产和制造业为出发点,向我们展示了许多尚不为人知的创意场景,挑战了我们对设计的分类,将新的设计行为和本地企业家精神加入到设计话语中。此项目的研究成果已先后在2015年的深港城市\建筑双城双年展,以及2016年的伦敦设计周展出,同时也将在设计互联旗下的V&A展馆中予以呈现,使展馆进一步融入本地语境。

公共教育,共同学习

我们的公共教育项目不仅承担着社会教育的责任,还扮演着推动市民生活的重要角色

IMG_2929-1

“去!设计社区节”,2016年11月

我们的公共教育项目不仅承担着社会教育的责任,还扮演着推动市民生活的重要角色。海上世界文化艺术中心拥有开阔联通的公共空间,从建筑设计上就充分体现其作为公共机构服务社区的职能。

近年来,中国的设计教育发展迅速,以满足日益增长的行业需求。设计互联作为首个专注设计领域的大型文化平台,应担当起推动设计教育的重任,成为行业的权威领袖,不断追求卓越和创新。

海上世界文化艺术中心是开展公共教育项目的理想之地。充足的公共空间适合各类活动,包括展览、表演、研讨会、装置艺术展、儿童活动和时尚展等。

在设计互联开馆前夕,我们组织了多次观众调研。公共教育团队主动联系深圳学校与社区,举办了多次与本地社会议题相关且聚焦于年轻一代的试点活动。

IMG_3608

“去!设计社区节”,2016年11月

设计互联已在北京设计周、伦敦设计节、上海西岸艺术设计博览会和上海设计周举办过专题论坛;并在深圳设计周与当地创意人才举办展览与对谈;还在多地举办工作坊以及本地社区节。这些形式多样的外部活动,均展示了设计互联与各地区观众积极互动的意愿与能力。

设计互联依托本地资源,与目标群体和潜在合作伙伴建立持续的对话,运用博物馆与设计领域的专业知识,在为深圳打造专属内容方面,已经形成了一套创新模式,由此呼应设计互联成为开放包容平台的定位。

目前网站正处于公测阶段

继续浏览

请将手机竖屏观看