This responsive site is only compatible with Chrome, Safari, Firefox and IE 10 & above.

海上世界文化中心 张超建筑摄影工作室 20161218-14

“Architecture is a cultural act in response to the common imagination of the time.”

Nurturing Dreams in Recent Work: Fumihiko Mkai+Maki and Associates

Follow Fumihiko Maki on an imaginary tour through his oeuvre, arriving at the Sea World Culture and Arts Center: a building that combines Maki's greatest contributions to architecture.

22
Background

In 2011, China Merchants Shekou Industrial ZoneHoldings Co., Ltd commissioned Fumihiko Maki todesign the Sea World Culture and Arts Center. Tocommemorate his first building in China, Maki was invited to curate a special opening exhibition, about his recent works and the SWCAC itself.

草图,槇文彦绘制(版权所有:槇综合计画事务所) Sketch by Fumihiko Maki©Maki and associates

▲ Sea World Culture and Arts Center, Sketch by Fumihiko Maki

With an architectural career spanning almost 60 years Maki’s practice has touched upon many important moments in history. From the rebuilding of postwar Japan, to the recent rebuilding of Ground Zero in New York; from utopian ideas of Metabolism and international modernism to the postmodernism of the 1980s and 1990s.

The SWCAC can be seen as a crystallization of the lessons Maki has learned throughout these years. The exhibition introduces the ideas behind the building. Against a backdrop of his formative years, Maki’s design philosophy is explained through a presentation of photos, quotes and sketches, as well as a selection of past and current projects, providing a broader understanding of the SWCAC within the full context of his long career.

timg (3)

"Commissioned in 2011, we undertook the Culture Center project as our first project in China. Since then, the project has brought unique experiences in our design decisions and strong collaboration with the local teams."

Fumihiko Maki

Biography

Born in pre-war Tokyo in 1928, Maki completed the first part of his training at the University of Tokyo before continuing his studies at Harvard, USA. From 1952 to 1965 Maki studied, taught and designed projects in the United States. In 1965 he returned to Japan to start his own architectural practice: Maki and Associates. Through his overseas endeavors Maki developed the international esthetic seen throughout his work, blending eastern and western approaches to architecture and urbanism.

timg (1)12

Maki with model at Harvard GSD

In 1959 and 1960 Maki was awarded the Graham Foundation Fellowship which allowed him to travel to cities in Asia, the Middle East and Europe to study the architecture of diff erent cultures and ages. Here he observed how groups of buildings had grown over time to form collectives. This inspired Maki’s "Investigations in Collective Form" (Washington University in St. Louis, 1964), still relevant to his architectural practice today.

The biography section shows experiences in Maki’s early years that have remained influential throughout his practice.

Maki Design Philosophy

Maki has been an active contributor to architectural theory since the late 50’s, dedicating his practice to investigating the relation between the individual and the urban setting. The philosophy section introduces Maki's governing ideas.

In his early years Maki joined a group of radical modern architects who founded Metabolism. Influenced by the rebuilding of post-war Japan and international modernism, their concern about rapid urbanization and the future growth of cities inspired flexible living solutions that could ‘organically’ grow as populations expanded. It is during these years that Maki developed his ideas about collective form.

01

AGA KHAN MUSEUM, 2014

In his early years Maki joined a group of radical modern architects who founded Metabolism. Influenced by the rebuilding of post-war Japan and international modernism, their concern about rapid urbanization and the future growth of cities inspired flexible living solutions that could ‘organically’ grow as populations expanded. It is during these years that Maki developed his ideas about collective form.

Collective form explores the different relationships between architectural structures and how they relate to each other in a group. Hillside Terrace (1969- 1992) and Republic Polytechnic Campus (2007), are an early and a more recent example of Maki's collective form, with structures existing together in clusters.

ssdf

Nebulous Whole

Space is another important principle in Maki’s work. Nebulous whole explores the ambiguity of a spatial entity as it exists in the mind of an architect. The eventual interpretation of this space is governed by sightlines, guiding one’s views outward, or to different points within the building. The Kaze-No-Oka Crematorium (1997) shows how Maki applies these sightlines, guiding the viewer’s gaze within and without the building. Space also relates to the Japanese term “Oku”, describing a focal point that attracts sightlines, or an intangible center; an idea replicated in the stepping floors and interior spaces of SPIRAL (1985).

"Another Utopia", or collective form of open spaces, combines these main principles of Maki's thinking, looking instead at the connection of spaces. Maki suggests that future cities should be organized around open spaces, as these are more flexible than buildings, and accepting of diverse public use.

Design Society丨Sea World Culture and Arts Center

In 2011 Fumihiko Maki was commissioned to design the Sea World Culture and Arts Center to house a new cultural institution in Shekou, combining his greatest contributions to architecture: a concern for the public and a commitment to style and quality. The exhibition presents the project in all its details.

30

The SWCAC is a monumental, white stone building, referencing the contemporary modernism of Maki and Associates. Its design is inspired by the building's surroundings as well as its varied program.

The interior and exterior provide spaces for visitors to be inspired by the cultural program, enjoy the park and seafront boulevard, as well as partake in various leisure activities.

Six galleries, hosting both museums and temporary exhibitions, exist alongside restaurants and shops, as well as a theater and a large multi-purpose hall. According to Maki, the SWCAC is a “mini city”, with diverse functions welcoming a wide variety of visitors.

The design of the SWCAC was inspired by its unique urban and geographical context as well as by the fusion of its cultural and commercial program.

海上世界文化中心航拍 张超建筑摄影工作室  20161218 -3
Three Directions

The 3 volumes on the roof open to three directions: city, park, and sea. The result is a building  form symbolizing SWCAC' s role to disseminate culture and information to Shenzhen andbeyond.

2017.09.29 蛇口艺术中心 (2)

Public Park

The building has been designed to integrate with the surrounding park and waterfront, allowing visitors to walk around freely in unbroken loops. Two large staircases on each end give free access to the roof garden, inviting visitors to stroll up to the roof and enjoy views over the sea and surrounding landscape.

2017.09.29 蛇口艺术中心 (141)

Diverse Programming

A central passage links the cultural and commercial program along three main plazas. At the Cultural Plaza, Central Plaza, and Waterfront Plaza, visitors can view, and transfer freely between different floors. Each of the plazas is crowned by one of the volumes on the roof.

IMG_1516
Podium + Pavilion

The building is organized by a two-part composition: a podium and a pavilion. The podium consisting of first three floors yield a sculptural form appropriate for the base, while the three aluminum volumes on top creates a light silhouette that marks the overall building as a pavilion in the park.

微信图片_20171120171733

Ole Bouman丨 Director of Design Society

An architectural giant with an internationally acclaimed practice, Maki’s buildings have touched the lives of people around the world. The SWCAC is Maki and Associates’ fi rst building in China, making it, for many, the first opportunity to experience Maki’s work first hand. Design Society is excited to give visitors this opportunity to understand the careful considerations behind the SWCAC’s design.

We welcome you to enjoy this exhibition, an introduction to the architect’s paradigm and a unique opportunity to experience the ideas behind Maki's projects, the highlight being a feature presentation of the SWCAC itself: a culmination of the lessons learned throughout Maki’s extensive practice, presented and explained through the eyes of the architect himself.

Participant Fumihiko Maki
Organizer Design Society
IMG_4053 copy

Interview with Fumihiko Maki

You May like

The website is currently a beta version.

Continue browsing

Please view vertical.

此网站目前只兼容Chrome、Safari、Firefox和IE 10及以上的浏览器。

海上世界文化中心 张超建筑摄影工作室 20161218-14

“建筑是一种响应时代,激发共同想象力的文化创作行为。”

筑·梦 —— 槇文彦与槇综合计画事务所设计展

人,以及人对建筑空间的体验,一直是槇文彦专业实践的关注重心。此次展览向观者展示了槇事务所建筑实践的重要承诺:建筑设计不仅关乎质量和优雅,还有时间、环境和人的需求。

22
背景

2011 年,招商局蛇口工业区控股股份有限公司委托槇文彦及其主持的槇综合计画事务所设计海上世界文化艺术中心。为纪念槇文彦在中国首座建筑的落成,特邀槇文彦为设计互联旗下园景展馆策划此开幕特展。

草图,槇文彦绘制(版权所有:槇综合计画事务所) Sketch by Fumihiko Maki©Maki and associates

▲ 海上世界文化艺术中心草图,槇文彦绘制(版权所有:槇综合计画事务所)

槇文彦的建筑事业逾半个世纪, 他的作品风格几经成长与革新, 触及了历史上许多重要时刻。从日本战后重建到纽约世贸中心归零地(Ground Zero)重建;从乌托邦思想新陈代谢主义和国际现代主义,到二十世纪八九十年代的后现代主义。槇文彦设身处地的适应每个时代的需求,创造了众多立足于当代和所在地语境的城市纪念碑。

展览介绍了海上世界文化艺术中心设计背后的思考,及其与槇文彦历年作品的相关性。以槇文彦早年的求学经历为出发点,通过近30 个项目的照片、著述、设计草图、模型等资料,带领观众回顾槇文彦近一生的创作历程。我们希望通过这样的展览形式,向人们传达建筑师的设计理念,加深观众对海上世界文化艺术中心的了解。

timg (3)

“2011 年,槇事务所受招商蛇口委托,设计我们在中国的首个项目:海上世界文化艺术中心。七年来,这个项目给我们带来了很多独特的设计经验,并建立起我们与蛇口团队的紧密合作。”

槇文彦

槇文彦生平

生于1928 年战前的东京,槇文彦在东京大学完成了他早期的建筑学习,后赴美国哈佛大学深造。1952 年到1965 年间,槇文彦在美国学习、讲学并完成了一系列设计项目,随后返回日本成立了自己的建筑事务所:槇综合计画事务所。得益于他的海外经历,槇文彦在作品中形成了一种融汇东西与城市主义的国际美学。

timg (1)12

槇文彦在自己的哈佛毕业设计模型前

1959 年和1960 年,槇文彦被授予格拉罕基金会奖学金,使他能够前往亚洲、中东和欧洲的城市,对不同文化和建成年代的建筑进行研究。在旅行中,他观察到建筑物可随时间推移而不断成长,从而形成集群体。槇文彦由此完成了与他今日的建筑实践息息相关的著作《集群形态研究》(圣路易斯华盛顿大学,1964 年)。

槇文彦的早年经历,为他日后建筑风格的形成奠定了重要基础。

槇文彦的设计哲学

槇文彦自50 年代末以来一直积极提出建筑理论,致力于探讨个人与城市环境之间的关系,这些理论思考则通过他主持设计的项目一一实现。

槇文彦早年曾加入激进的新陈代谢派现代建筑运动。受战后日本重建和国际现代主义运动的影响,新陈代谢派建筑师对城市的快速发展和城市的未来发展感到忧虑,提出应构建可随人口增长而“有机”进化的灵活建筑方案。槇文彦关于集合形态理论的想法亦成型于此阶段。

01

阿迦汗博物馆,2014

集合形态理论仍可见于槇文彦今天的作品中。该理论探讨了建筑物之间的多样关系,以及建筑物在建筑集群里的相互关系。从展览中的HillsideTerrace(1969-1992)和共和国理工大学校区(2007)项目,可以看出槇文彦对“局部与整体”的持续关注,这两个例子是典型的“群形态”,即由多个相关联建筑物组成,且随着时间流逝有机生长进化的建筑形式。

ssdf

朦胧整体

空间,是槇文彦作品中的另一个重要原则,他的设计哲学多围绕此主题展开。例如“朦胧整体”(Nebulous whole) 的概念, 探讨了空间实体在建筑师思想中存在的模糊性。由于视线控制了人对空间的最终解读,因此可通过建筑设计,将人的视线引导至建筑物外部或内部的不同区域。以风之丘葬祭场(1997 年)为例,建筑师有意识地引导观众目光在葬祭场内部和外部穿梭。空间的原则也涉及到日本文化中关于“奥”(OKU)的理念,即一个吸引视线的焦点或无形的中心,如在SPIRAL(1985)项目中的楼梯和室内空间设计。

开放空间的集合形态则综合了以上理念,是构建“另一个乌托邦”的希望。槇文彦呼吁人们应更关注空间关系而非建筑结构。这些建筑理念表明,未来城市应围绕开放空间进行规划,因为空间比建筑物更为灵活,并为公众提供多样化的使用可能。

设计互联丨海上世界文化艺术中心

2011 年,槇文彦受委托设计设计互联| 海上世界文化艺术中心,一座在深圳蛇口设立的新型文化机构。
海上世界文化艺术中心集槇文彦建筑作品之大成:关注公众体验,能经受时间考验的风格和品质。

30

宏伟的白色建筑是槇事务所标志性的现代主义风格,设计则受到海上世界独特的地理和城市环境启发。建筑内外拥有符合各种活动需求的功能空间,以三个大型广场为中心,既能满足多样化的使用需求,也能保证观众享受高质量的文化与休闲活动。人们可在此享受公园和滨海长廊美景,从文化项目中攫取灵感,并参与各种休闲活动。

六个展馆作为博物馆和临时展览空间,穿插于餐厅、商店,剧院和大型多功能厅之间。槇文彦表示,海上世界文化艺术中心是一个功能多元的“迷你城市”,迎接各类人士到访。

海上世界文化艺术中心的设计灵感

来源于当地独特的地理和城市环境,以及建筑的多功能需求。

海上世界文化中心航拍 张超建筑摄影工作室  20161218 -3
三重视野

屋顶三个体量分别朝向三个方向,构建面向城市、公园和大海的三重视野,建筑形式象征其在海上世界片区内作为文化艺术核心的地位,未来它将成为向深圳及至世界传播文化艺术信息的高地。

2017.09.29 蛇口艺术中心 (2)

公园

整座建筑与周边公园和滨海景色融为一体,参观者可在其中自由漫步。沿着建筑两侧的大型阶梯,可抵达免费向公众开放的屋顶花园,人们可在此俯瞰周边的山海景观。

2017.09.29 蛇口艺术中心 (141)

多样化活动

海上世界文化艺术中心融合文化与商业的特点,在建筑形态中多有体现。中央轴线上有三个主要广场—— 文化广场、中央广场与滨海广场—— 连接着文化和商业空间。经过这些广场,人们可在不同的楼层与区域间自由穿梭与参观。每个广场分别与平台上的楼阁相对应。

IMG_1516
平台+楼阁

三层楼构成的平台形态极富雕塑感,与地块形状高度契合;在基座上方延伸而出的三个铝面楼阁,勾勒出轻盈的轮廓,仿若置身于园林之中的休憩楼阁。

微信图片_20171120171733

设计互联馆长丨奥雷·伯曼致辞

人,以及人对建筑空间的体验,一直是槇文彦专业实践的关注重心。此次展览向观者展示了槇事务所建筑实践的重要承诺:建筑设计不仅关乎质量和优雅,还有时间、环境和人的需求。

在此,我们欢迎您参观本次展览,走进槇文彦逾半个世纪的建筑实践,了解他多年以来的从业经验与成果,并由此更好地理解海上世界文化艺术中心,这座深圳乃至中国的新地标。

参展人 槇文彦
主办 设计互联
IMG_4053 copy

日本建筑大师槇文彦先生专访

猜你喜欢

目前网站正处于公测阶段

继续浏览

请将手机竖屏观看